Mental Showers….

In the process of bringing some of my visions to life, I have come to learn a lot about the creative process, and about patience…

I recently read this incredible book called Mach II With Your Hair On Fire, the power of visualization and motivation.

I was blown away!

When I danced, I would always visualize the outcome I desired- and incredibly I would always acScreen Shot 2015-05-20 at 1.59.20 PMhieve the result I was after. I can vividly remember one dance competition that I performed at, I had visualized my solo performance weeks before, creating my “mind movie” of how I wanted to perform and feel, I can still see it and feel it in my minds eye to this day. It was the best performance I had ever personally done as a soloist. It really proved to me the power of visualization, and that as soon as I decided that this was the way things were gonna happen, they turned out even better.

Now with my new entrepreneurial venture, I am trying to apply the same determination, and visualization techniques. It is tough. Some days I feel super motivated, like I am making progress, and other days I feel like I am getting nowhere. I am trying to master consistency, resilience and perseverance. To be a real, true visionary that is unmoved by any “failure” or “set back” or “doubt”- to keep pushing forward towards what I want regardless- it is what I did with dance, and now am doing with this.

Entrepreneurialism is a whole other kind of game than dance. With this journey, it is one that I have to create myself. There is no guidebook, no steps, and no rules. Which can have positive and negative benefits. I have to create my path, blaze a new trail, and learn as I go.

I know, like with anything worth pursuing, it will take perseverance, and dedication. What I have learned is that the one thing that will pull me or anyone through is our vision- the certainty that this is going to happen no matter what, and that it already is happening.

Another technique in visualization is experiencing the vision or becoming it before it officially “happens”. Visions are achieved in the mind first before they are achieved in reality. Experiencing it as if it is already happening is how we fill the gap between where we are to where we want to be, or who we are to who we want to be.

An easy example of this would be someone who wants to lose weight. This person sees, feels themselves as they would be at their target weight; how they are feeling, what they are doing. They will say “I weigh ______ pounds/kg, and I look and feel amazing. I love the way I look and feel and everyone agrees. I love my energy, vitality, and exuberance. My life is so full of health and happiness and I love it.”

Telling ourselves our vision as the present tricks our brain into thinking it is already happening, therefore this “vision” becomes an expectation, instead of a goal- or something far away that isn’t there yet.

This is the best way to fill the gap of where we are or who we are to who we want to be.

Visualization is something that has to be experienced daily; I refer to it like take a “mental shower”. We don’t just take a shower once and expect ourselves to be clean for the rest of our lives. We have to shower consistently, on a daily basis, to stay clean. It is exactly the same with visualization. To become or create what we want (like how we shower to get what we want-which is cleanliness) we have to experience and pursue it on a daily basis.

I hope that this provides some new insights on how visualization can be used to create what you may want, and be a new part of your daily care regime-like taking a shower, to help improve your mental, and emotional wellbeing.

 

Wishing you a great Wednesday,

Madison


Leave a comment